Scarlet Tigers – annual update

Scarlet Tiger (Callimorpha dominula)

The addition of a few trees at the site doesn’t seem to have reduced the extent of the comfrey or the numbers of scarlet tigers, which are beginning to appear in significant numbers; the first I saw this year was on 22 June. Larvae and adults are following the usual pattern: larvae from late March, adults as soon as the weather is warm after mid June. Without more accurate observations and other data – soil temperature, for example – I can’t deduce much except for the obvious effect of 2013’s cold spring, but I’ll keep an eye on them.
Scarlet tigers - data

2 Responses to “Scarlet Tigers – annual update”

  1. Unbelievably I saw one of these in my suburban garden yesterday but wasn’t quick enough to get a picture of it. I think it may be a god year for them this season as I’ve heard of other reports being bandied about as well.

  2. That’s great news, Tony. I think we are both near the eastern edge of the range for these (see UK Moths http://ukmoths.org.uk/show.php?bf=2068&map=true) but it would be good to see expansion – I don’t think they compete strongly with other species, and I’m sure you have some comfrey patches!

Leave a Reply

