Summer highlights

It’s been a while since I posted anything here – I’ve been away on and off, and haven’t taken a lot of photos, but here are a few things I hadn’t seen here before:

Brown Argus butterfly: I found what I though was a mating pair of Common Blues at Butts Piece:

Brown Argus (Aricia agestis)

but I discovered later that they were the closely-related Brown Argus (which I had never seen before). No sign of Brown Argus on the next visit, but a few days later I found one:
Brown Argus (Aricia agestis)

Cinnabar Moth caterpillars
There has been ragwort around here for as long as I can remember. It’s toxic to cattle and horses, especially if it gets into hay used as winter feed, but it is a food plant for many insects including the colourful Cinnabar Moth (which I gather is sometimes used to control ragwort because of its voracious appetite for the plant). Cinnabar Moth caterpillars are unmistakable:

Cinnabar (Tyria jacobaeae) larva

Emerging ladybird
I read somewhere that all ladybirds are yellow when they emerge from their pupae. This one’s probably a Harlequin:

Newly-emerged ladybird

Leafcutter bees
I’ve seen leafcutter bees and their signature cutouts from rose and maple leaves, but this is the closest I’ve got to one:

Leafcutter bee

Leave a Reply

