This year’s Scarlet Tigers

Scarlet Tiger Moth (Callimorpha dominula)
Nature’s timing is just right for these moths: in March, the caterpillars munched the comfrey into oblivion. Now it’s regrown and is flowering, the moths are emerging to feed on the nectar.
Scarlet Tiger Moth (Callimorpha dominula)

3 Responses to “This year’s Scarlet Tigers”

  1. Have seen Scarlet Tigers in Cholsey, Wallingford and Wantage this year. Must be a good year for them.

  2. Malcolm Brownsword Says:

    For the past 4 or 5 years there has been a strong colony in York Road, West Hagbourne. Four years ago I saw approx. 100 on a Lawson Cypress outside a friend’s front garden. It was dusk and almost half were mating pairs. The woman who lived at the house at the time had bought eggs or pupae from Worldwide Butterflies about 6 years ago and released them after the moths emerged. I get them every year in my garden in Manor Close. I have had Crousell’s B.C. in my garden but not since the local farmer got rid of his uncultivated strip at the edge of his field which adjoins my garden. I have had a colony of about 50 Gatekeepers in my garden every year since I moved in 22 years ago. I get occasional Marbled whites too. There is a small colony of small blues on the Sustrans between E. Hagbourne and Upton (lots of their foodplant!) and also common lizards. The most I have seen on 1 walk was 3 last summer. There are a few Pyramidal Orchids at the Upton end of the Sustrans track. I too have the same species of leaf-cutting bee in my garden – they cut the leaves of Fuchsia.

    • Thanks, Malcolm: we are lucky to have such varied wildlife locally. I’ve seen kidney vetch (but not small blues) between Hagbourne and Upton; I’ll look out for the small blues, common lizards, pyramidal orchids etc this season, and hope to get some photos to post on this blog.

Leave a Reply

