Not quite what I expected

A few days after I first saw the shieldbug eggs, things weren’t looking so good
Eggs...
A week later they were even worse.
Bottled eggs
Flickr friends suggested I keep the leaf + eggs in a jam-jar to see if the (presumed) parasite would emerge, and here it is:
some sort of parasitic wasp, itself hardly bigger than a shieldbug egg
Parasite (close up)
Later in the day it’s a bit more recognisable, and another is about to hatch
And finally...

One Response to “Not quite what I expected”

  1. The Daily Dabbler Says:

    That is so cool! I have a photo on my photo blog of pink snail eggs I found along a canal bank.

Leave a Reply

