More visitors

The redwings are still there, in large numbers, and among them are a few bigger birds – I think they’re fieldfares (but I’ve never seen a fieldfare before, so I may be wrong, though the “chack” noise they make when flying off seems to confirm their identity)
Fieldfare?

2 Responses to “More visitors”

  1. It looks like a fieldfare to me, here they are more common that the redwings. Over the years I’ve only managed to get one photo of a redwing. One, and you speak of seeing many of them.

  2. Thanks, Sanna. There were a few redwings in this hedge last week, but today there were many more – perhaps as many as a hundred – with a much smaller number of fieldfares. Both species are regular winter migrants to the UK, and I think are often seen together, but this is the first time I’ve seen them.

Leave a Reply

