Grasshoppers

The dry weather has filled the air with the sounds of grasshoppers, though they are hard to find and obviously don’t like being photographed. This Field Grasshopper was perfectly camouflaged and wouldn’t emerge from the undergrowth, but gave away its location by chirping vigorously:
Field Grasshopper (Chorthippus brunneus)
Field Grasshopper (Chorthippus brunneus)

I spotted a Meadow Grasshopper in the dead grass and took a snap before I tried to move the obstacles:
Meadow Grasshopper (Chorthippus parallelus), m.

Then I tried – and it hopped onto a plant stem and played “hide and seek”, moving round the stem to stay out of sight:
Meadow Grasshopper (Chorthippus parallelus), m.

4 Responses to “Grasshoppers”

  1. Amazing! The green one reminds me of when I played the Old Green Grasshopper in ‘James and the Giant Peach’ (many moons ago)… except the character isn’t as retiring as your friend here. I’m always captivated by such exquisite close-ups. Happy Summer btw!

  2. shadowwolf32 Says:

    Excellent Shots!

  3. A great series of shots, beautiful. Grasshoppers are one of the things that represent summer!

  4. Great shots! =) I’m never observant enough to see the grasshoppers. I know they are there but I never spot them. =/

Leave a Reply

