Bluetits are getting bigger!

A few weeks ago I noticed that fatballs in the garden feeder were disappearing at an alarming rate – and soon spotted the reason, in the shape of a jackdaw:
Caught in the act
This weekend, a rook took over. It’s almost as big as the feeder, and has no trouble removing big chunks of food with that cold-chisel of a beak:
Meant for small birds

3 Responses to “Bluetits are getting bigger!”

  1. Chantal Stanford Says:

    The thieving birds!

  2. Hi. I just found your blog and enjoy it very much. (I am a new backyard blogger. I love reading about what other are blogging about their yards, which I am now doing as I write my own blog.)
    Do you have a recipe for your fatballs? I want to make some for my birds!

    Thanks for letting me visit your garden–come visit mine. http://arroyocoloradoriverblog.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

